Thoughts for the soul(s)

2 03 2006

The soul needs food and practise, so here we go, a few quotes:

“War is only a cowardly escape from the problem of peace. “
Thomas Mann

“We lose our freedoms at the altar of fear.”
Kahlil Gibran

“We are not victims of the world we see; we are victims of the way we see the world.”
Dennis Kucinich

“The ultimate weakness of violence is that it is a descending spiral, begetting the very thing it seeks to destroy… Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.”
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

“In this world, hate never dispelled hate. Only love dispels hate. This is the law, ancient and inexhaustible.”
The Buddha

“The only enemy is injustice. The only death is death of the conscience.”
Guru Granth Sahib (Sikh holy book)

“World peace begins with inner peace. What is reflected on the outer is merely a mirror of what is on the inner. Trying to change the world without working to change consciousness is like trying to change the image in a mirror without changing the object that is being reflected. The physical environment and circumstances we experience, are merely a reflection of our consciousness. Our consciousness is created by our thoughts — the true creative force. To change our consciousness we must transform all our limiting thoughts.”
Carol Hansen Grey

“I have come to the frightening conclusion that I am the decisive element. It is my personal approach that creates the climate. It is my daily mood that makes the weather. I possess tremendous power to make life miserable or joyous. I can be a tool of torture or an instrument of inspiration, I can humiliate or humor, hurt or heal. In all situations, it is my response that decides whether a crisis is escalated or de-escalated, and a person is humanized or de-humanized. If we treat people as they are, we make them worse. If we treat people as they ought to be, we help them become what they are capable of becoming.”
Goethe

“In a time of universal deceit, telling the truth becomes a revolutionary act.”
George Orwell

“Beware the leader who bangs the drums of war in order to whip the citizenry into a patriotic fervor, for patriotism is indeed a double-edged sword. It both emboldens the blood, just as it narrows the mind. And when the drums of war have reached a fever pitch and the blood boils with hate and the mind has closed, the leader will have no need in seizing the rights of the citizenry. Rather, the citizenry, infused with fear and blinded by patriotism, will offer up all of their rights unto the leader and gladly so.
How do I know?
For this is what I have done.
And I am Caesar.”
Julius Caesar

“Kids can’t see us bombing, and then listen to us talking about getting guns out of the schools.
How can we tell them to solve problems without violence, if, in fact, we can’t show an ability to solve problems without violence?”
Representative Barbara Lee

“I know there is anger. I feel it myself. But I don’t want my son used as a pawn to justify the killing of others. We as a nation should not use the same means as the people who attacked us.”
Oscar Rodriguez, whose son died in the attack on the World Trade Center

Do I need to add any comments?
Just one thing: in my previous post, I talked about the AP getting transcripts & video footage showing that Bush got accurate info about Katrina the day before, well, as you’ve seen it’s been all over the news. Better more info than not enough.

Actions

Information

One response

4 03 2006
Dana

Hello Dylan,

My friends and I had just talked about the Bush/Katrina info and then I showed them your post and then…the “news” got it. I agree…more than not enough. I love your Goethe quote. That one really spoke to me. I am convinced you are the only person who reads my blog :). Glad you like it. I really enjoy yours. Yesterday, I read it with my coffee before I read the paper. I hope you grasp what a cherised spot that is in my day! 🙂

Of course a meeting. Soon.

Cheers…
Dana

Leave a Reply

